South Dakota Property Tax Assessors

Marshall County, South Dakota Tax Assessors' Office

Marshall County Assessors Phone Number
Marshall County Director of Equalization
911 Vanderhorck Avenue
Britton, South Dakota 57430

Where is the Marshall County Tax Assessor's Office?

The Marshall County Tax Assessor, Director of Equalization Office is located at 911 Vanderhorck Avenue in Britton, South Dakota.

What can the Marshall County Assessor's Office do for me?

The Marshall County Tax Assessor's Office oversees the appraisal and assessment of properties as well as the billing and collection of property taxes for all taxable real estate located in Marshall County.

Contact the assessor's office if you need help with paying your property taxes, applying for a homestead exemption or other tax exemption, reporting upgrades to your home, appealing your property tax assessment, or verifying your property records.

Submitting a Marshall County property tax appeal

If you believe that your house has been unfairly overappraised (i.e. appraised at a value higher than the true market value of the property), you can attempt to get your home re-appraised at a lower value by contacting the Assessor's Office to submit a property tax appeal.

You will have to submit a form describing your property and sufficient proof that it is overassessed, including valuations of similar homes nearby as evidence. If your appeal is accepted, your home assessment (and property taxes) will be lowered as a result.

If you would like to appeal your property, call the Marshall County Assessor's Office at (605) 448 5291 and ask for a property tax appeal form. Keep in mind that property tax appeals are generally only accepted in a 1-3 month window each year.

For more information and example appeals, see how to appeal your property taxes.

Useful Marshall County Facts:

The median home value in Marshall County is between $73,597.00 and $89,803.00. Property tax rates are based on property values.

How can I contact Marshall County?

You can try contacting the Marshall County local government directly with any issues the Assessor's Office can't solve. In many counties, certain property records such as deeds are kept in the county courthouse or county archives instead of at the tax assessors' office.

The county seat for Marshall County is located in the County Courthouse in Britton, which is located at PO BOX 130. You can direct your general inquiries to Marshall County with the contact info listed below.

Marshall County Phone Number


Marshall County Fax Number


Marshall County County Courthouse Address

County Courthouse
PO BOX 130
Britton, SD 57430-0130

Useful Marshall County Links:

Links broken? Please contact us if any of our Marshall County links are not working or are out-of-date.