Montana Property Tax Assessors

Carter County, Montana Tax Assessors' Office

Carter County Assessors Phone Number
Carter County Treasurer and Assessor
214 Park Street
Ekalaka, Montana 59324

Where is the Carter County Tax Assessor's Office?

The Carter County Tax Assessor, Treasurer and Tax Lien Sales Records Office is located at 214 Park Street, at the County Courthouse building in Ekalaka, Montana.

What can the Carter County Assessor's Office do for me?

The Carter County Tax Assessor's Office oversees the appraisal and assessment of properties as well as the billing and collection of property taxes for all taxable real estate located in Carter County.

Contact the assessor's office if you need help with paying your property taxes, applying for a homestead exemption or other tax exemption, reporting upgrades to your home, appealing your property tax assessment, or verifying your property records.

Submitting a Carter County property tax appeal

If you believe that your house has been unfairly overappraised (i.e. appraised at a value higher than the true market value of the property), you can attempt to get your home re-appraised at a lower value by contacting the Assessor's Office to submit a property tax appeal.

You will have to submit a form describing your property and sufficient proof that it is overassessed, including valuations of similar homes nearby as evidence. If your appeal is accepted, your home assessment (and property taxes) will be lowered as a result.

If you would like to appeal your property, call the Carter County Assessor's Office at (406) 775 8735 and ask for a property tax appeal form. Keep in mind that property tax appeals are generally only accepted in a 1-3 month window each year.

For more information and example appeals, see how to appeal your property taxes.

Useful Carter County Facts:

The median home value in Carter County is between $54,056.00 and $78,344.00. Property tax rates are based on property values.

How can I contact Carter County?

You can try contacting the Carter County local government directly with any issues the Assessor's Office can't solve. In many counties, certain property records such as deeds are kept in the county courthouse or county archives instead of at the tax assessors' office.

The county seat for Carter County is located in the County Courthouse in Ekalaka, which is where the Carter County Assessors' Office is also located. You can direct your general inquiries to Carter County with the contact info listed below.

Carter County Phone Number


Carter County Fax Number


Carter County County Courthouse Address

County Courthouse
214 Park Street
Ekalaka, MT 59324-0315

Useful Carter County Links:

Links broken? Please contact us if any of our Carter County links are not working or are out-of-date.